14 Wyoming Teachers Honored

WRIGHT, Wyo., May 27, 2014 – The Arch Coal Foundation presented 14 Wyoming teachers today with its Golden Apple Awards certificates.

The Golden Apple Awards are part of the Arch Coal Foundation’s teacher recognition program, which recently honored 10 outstanding Wyoming classroom teachers with its highest award – the Teacher Achievement Award. Golden Apple Award recipients earned finalist status in the program, distinguishing them as among the top tier of the 2014 nominees.

“These Golden Apple recipients’ applications received very high scores by the judges, all past recipients of the Teacher Achievement Award,” said Greg Schaefer, Arch Coal vice president of external affairs, western region. “Arch Coal salutes these classroom teachers, who exhibit high standards, dedication and creativity every day.”

The public nominates educators for the Arch award, which celebrated its 14th year in 2014. The program is Wyoming’s longest-running, privately sponsored teacher recognition program.

Teachers receiving Golden Apple Awards are:

Richard S. Atkinson             East High School                              Cheyenne
Lori Britton                          Wheatland High School                      Wheatland
Heidi Christensen                Douglas Primary School                      Douglas
Lisa Esquibel                      Davis Elementary School                    Cheyenne
Sarah Glasser                     Wright Junior Senior High School         Wright
London Jenks                      Hot Springs County High School          Thermopolis
Jana Jensen                       Sunflower Elementary  School              Gillette
Sarah Krank                       South High School                               Cheyenne
Lisa Lowenfels                    Kelly Elementary School                      Kelly
Kim Luedde                        Cody Middle School                             Cody
Kati Meeks                         Wind River Elementary School              Pavillion
Katie Moore                        Indian Paintbrush Elementary School    Laramie
Caleb Sanders                    Lovell High School                               Lovell
Jay Tomich                         C-V Ranch School                              Wilson

The Teacher Achievement Awards are underwritten by the Arch Coal Foundation and are supported in program promotion by the Wyoming Education Association, Taco Johns, Loaf ‘N Jug and the Wyoming Library Community. Arch Coal and the Arch Coal Foundation have a long history of supporting educational and community causes in Wyoming. The Arch Coal Foundation also supports teacher recognition or grants programs in West Virginia and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

St. Louis-based Arch Coal, Inc. (NYSE:ACI) is one of the world’s top coal producers for the global steel and power generation industries, serving customers on five continents. Its network of mining complexes is the most diversified in the United States, spanning every major coal basin in the nation. Arch Coal’s Thunder Basin Coal Company operates the Black Thunder and Coal Creek mines in Wyoming. For more information about the program, visit www.archteacherawards.com.
Filed Under :
Topics : Education
Community Calendar