UW Students Elect President and Senators

April 17, 2014 — University of Wyoming students have elected Ahmed Balogun of Kwara, Nigeria, a junior in mechanical engineering, as the first-ever international student to be president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming (ASUW).

Ricardo Lind-Gonzalez of Casper, a junior in elementary education, was elected vice president.

Balogun will preside over the student government that oversees a budget of more than $1 million, including funding for a variety of student programs. He also will serve as an ex-officio member of the UW Board of Trustees.

A record number of 2,725 students, nearly 33 percent of those eligible, voted in the online election that took place Monday through Wednesday, April 14-16.

ASUW senators, who serve on various committees and represent their colleges in budgetary and policy matters affecting all UW students, also were elected.

Senators, listed by hometown and major, are:
Buffalo -- Brian Schueler, international studies and economics.

Casper -- Clayton Dexter, mathematics and economics; Brent Kebert, elementary education; Sean McQuade, sociology; Trevor B. Scherlin, finance and economics.

Cheyenne -- Joseph Chenchar, J.D. candidate; Alex Krysl, secondary education and mathematics; Joshua Messer, molecular biology; James Segrave, petroleum engineering.

Dayton -- Eilish R. Hanson, agricultural communications; Jaynee Hanson, business administration.

Evanston -- David Petersen, kinesiology.

Gillette -- Briana Long, chemical engineering.

Jackson -- Victor Hernandez, political science.

Laramie -- Daniel Kerbs, mechanical engineering; Ruiqi Yang, computer science and computer engineering.

Powell -- Kadi Cooley, physiology; Emily Kath, communications; Brooke Nisley, social work and international studies.

Ranchester -- Sarah Maze, physiology and pre-medicine.
Filed Under :
Topics : Education
Location : BuffaloKwaraWyoming
Community Calendar