Written by on February 7, 2017

Press Release – The Northern Wyoming Community College District and Gillette College are extraordinarily pleased to announce the selection of students Edwin Saenz and Ashley Pollick as the 2017 All-Wyoming Academic Team members representing Gillette College. 

Selection for the team is based on application process, and recognizes high achieving two-year college students demonstrating academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends beyond the classroom, according to the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society website.

Currently serving as the Gillette College PTK chapter president, Saenz is a first-generation student in his second year at GC, studying criminal justice.  “He has overcome many obstacles to become the leader he is now on our campus,” said Beth Walker, GC Academic and PTK Advisor.  “Growing up in a non-English speaking home, he taught himself English and is now a successful business owner.”

A second-year Elementary Education major, Pollick is on course to graduate this spring and plans to continue her education at one of our partner universities. “Ashley is an amazing student, worker, and mother of three,” said Walker.  “In addition to school and parenting, she works on and off campus and still manages to volunteer time with organizations like PTK.”

Each student will receive a certificate and medallion, presented at the 2017 Wyoming Association of Community College Trustees reception in Cheyenne February 8.  They will also be entered into the national 2017 Coca-Cola New Century Scholar award program.  New Century Scholars are the highest scoring students in each state, plus one student from Canada and one additional student chosen from among one of the remaining seven sovereign nations where Phi Theta Kappa is represented internationally. The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges. 

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

[There are no radio stations in the database]