Wyoming Mining Association Announces Annual Convention

Written by on June 8, 2017

Press Release – The Wyoming Mining Association (WMA) will hold its 62nd Annual Convention on June 14-16 at the Holiday Inn in Sheridan, Wyoming.

The theme of this year’s convention is “A Focus on the Future.”  Former US Representative Cynthia Lummis will open the Convention on Thursday, June 15.   Additionally, the convention will hear from Western States Legal Foundation Chairman William Perry Pendley at the annual WMA President’s Luncheon.  Other scheduled speakers include Mrs. Mary Jo Rugwell (Wyoming State Director, US Bureau of Land Management), Mr. Colin Marshall (President and CEO, Cloud Peak Energy), Wyoming State Senate President Eli Bebout and Senate Majority Floor Leader Drew Perkins, Mr. Robin Eves (President and CEO, Clean Coal Technologies), and Mr. Randall Atkins (Chairman and CEO, Ramaco, LLC).

Friday, June 16 will highlight the mining industry’s ongoing commitment to a safe workplace with the theme of “Building the Culture of Safety.” Wyoming Governor Matt Mead will address the Safety and Reclamation Awards lunch, and Wyoming State Inspector of Mines Terry Adcock

will honor those operations with exemplary safety records.  Mr. Kyle Wendtland, DEQ Land Quality Administrator will also award reclamation awards in both the coal and non-coal categories.

A full convention agenda is included below.

The Wyoming Mining Association (WMA) is a statewide trade organization that represents and advocates for 26 mining company members producing bentonite, coal, trona and uranium.  WMA also represents 120 associate member companies, one railroad, one electricity co-op, and 200 individual members.

NOTE:  WMA will waive registration fees for members of the media wishing to attend.


 Wyoming Mining Association 62nd Annual Convention


“A Focus on the Future”

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Sheridan Holiday Inn


8:15AM         “A Focus on the Future”

The Honorable Cynthia M. Lummis

Former United States Representative



8:45AM         “Mining on BLM Administered Lands in Wyoming”

Mrs. Mary Jo Rugwell

Wyoming State Director, US Bureau of Land Management


9:15AM         “Creating Regulatory Predictability for Utilities, the Key to the Future for the PRB”

Mr. Colin Marshall

President and CEO, Cloud Peak Energy


10:15AM       “Wyoming Legislative Update”

The Honorable Eli Bebout and Drew Perkins

President and Majority Floor Leader, Wyoming State Senate


10:45AM       “The Importance of Technology in The Future of Coal”

Mr. Robin Eves

President and CEO, Clean Coal Technologies, Inc.


11:00AM       “From Coal to Cars”

                     Mr. Randall Atkins

Chairman and CEO, Ramaco, LLC


12:00PM       WMA President’s Luncheon

Recognition of Past WMA Presidents


Luncheon Address:        

Mr. William Perry Pendley

Chairman, Mountain States Legal Foundation


6:00PM         No Host Cocktail Hour (Sheridan Holiday Inn)


7:00PM         WMA Annual Dinner (Sheridan Holiday Inn)


Presentations of Awards and Silent Auction



“Building the Culture of Safety”

Friday, June 16, 2017

Sheridan Holiday Inn


9:00AM         “The Coming Reset: Making MSHA Relevant Again”

Mr. Bruce Watzman

Senior Vice President for Regulatory Affairs, National Mining Association


9:30AM         “Mitigating Combustible Dust Explosions”

Mr. Andrew Sandstrom

Safety and Compliance Representative, Nelson Brothers


10:30 AM      “Why Only Business Can Cure Healthcare”

Ms. Anne Ladd

Chief Executive Officer, Wyoming Business Coalition on Health


11:00AM       “Mitigating Drug and Alcohol Abuse in the Workplace”

Mr. Mike Reed

Wyoming State Fire Marshall


12:00PM       Safety and Reclamation Awards Luncheon


Luncheon Address:

The Honorable Matt Mead

Governor of Wyoming


Presentation of Awards


The 63rd Annual WMA Convention will be held next year in Jackson Hole, Wyoming.

[There are no radio stations in the database]