Written by on March 2, 2018

Press Release – The Northern Wyoming Community College District and Gillette College is pleased to announce the selection of students Jeffrey Turkowski and Brigett McCollum as the 2018 All-Wyoming Academic Team members representing Gillette College.

Selection for the team is based on an application process and recognizes high achieving two-year college students that demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends beyond the classroom, according to the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society website.

Turkowski, a secondary education major, is vice president of the Gillette College Phi Theta Kappa Chapter. He is a Marine Corps veteran and one of the national winners of the Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise scholarship.

“Jeffrey exhibits exceptional leadership ability in everything he does,” said Beth Walker, Director of Advising and Testing Services and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor. “He makes a difference at our college and in the community.”

McCollum is a mining technology major and treasurer and fundraising chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Chapter. She also chaired the Giving Tree Project to collect, and deliver, Christmas gifts to the senior citizens of our community living on limited income.

“Brigett has the determination to work hard, help others, and succeed. She is a role model to her fellow students and a leader in the community,” Walker said.

Each student received a certificate and medallion at the 2018 Wyoming Association of Community College Trustees reception in Cheyenne last Wednesday, Feb. 21. Turkowski and McCollum will also be considered for the national 2018 Coca-Cola New Century Scholar Award.

One recipient from each state will be chosen for the New Century Scholar Award in early March. Recipients receive a $2,000 scholarship and are honored at a national conference in New Orleans. The scholarship program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.

[There are no radio stations in the database]